Cilantro Vinaigrette

My friend Cassi bought the same small food processor that I did and asked what she should do with it. I love it for salad dressings. This is a simple and very tasty dressing that I found in a book by Matt Martinez Jr, “Mex Tex”. Here’s the recipe as it is written in the book. I cut it in half because there are only two of us at my house.

1 cup olive oil
1/2 cup red wine vinegar
1/2 cup cilantro (loosely packed)
1 tablespoon crushed and chopped garlic
2 teaspoons salt
1 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

Whirl it in the food processor or a blender for 30 seconds. Pour into a jar and chill.

My half measure of the ingredients above makes about this much. The full measure makes 1 1/2 cups, according to the recipe. 1 1/2 cups is more than I need.

Of course, if you don’t like cilantro this won’t be for you. But, if you do, you’ll be amazed at how delicious it is! Today’s salad is fresh greens from my neighbor’s garden, radish, heirloom tomato and green onion. A few slices of cantaloupe and we’re good to go with some grilled chicken.

Leave a comment